INSTALLATIONS

The audience enters a journey through darkness and light in seven chapters.

Visitors move through the exhibits and interact with the objects, sound, light and surrounding space. In this way, everyone experiences the exhibition uniquely. For a series of moments the fast pace of everyday life gives way to meditative, hypnotic power of light, motion and sound.

 

The exhibition is a living organism that will evolve and transform over time, illuminating the darkness of the exhibition spaces in new and varied ways. DARK MATTER remains ethereal and always in motion, a vision that only takes shape for brief moments.

LIQUID SKY consists of over 800 individual light points which together form a coherent surface. The additional mirroring of the entire room creates an endless light horizon that sparkles like a starry sky.

INVERSE combines 169 moving black spherical objects into a seemingly living entity. Monochromatic, sometimes threatening in its appearance, the ensemble presents  in silhouette against the bright background. 

DARK-MATTER-Installations-1920-02.jpg
DARK-MATTER-Installations-1920-03.jpg

CIRCULAR is a hypnotic ballet of three rings of light that perform a weightless dance in the void of darkness. In harmony with the electronic score, they find themselves in a continuous interplay of unity and independence. 

A household ladder extended with sensors turns into a real musical instrument. The ordinary ladder becomes a TONE LADDER. If you step on a rung or touch it with your hand, a sound or rhythm is created that varies from step to step.

DARK-MATTER-Installations-1920-04.jpg
DARK-MATTER-Installations-1920-05.jpg

This installation uses modern technology to simulate an archaic institution - The Bonfire. Digital technology creates the illusion of sitting together with friends around a campfire under a starry sky. 

POLYGON PLAYGROUND translates a computer-generated object into real space. A seamless 360-degree projection covers the surface like a digital skin that reacts to the visitor´s movements via sensors.

DARK-MATTER-Installations-1920-06.jpg
DARK-MATTER-Installations-1920-07.jpg

GRID combines kinetic motion, light and electronic music  to create a giant audiovisual sculpture that hovers above the audience. The audiovisual installation symbolizes the merging of the digital and physical world. GRID is enduring and fleeting at the same time.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
© 2020 by DARK MATTER.

INSTALLATIONEN

Das Publikum begibt sich auf eine Reise durch Dunkelheit und Licht in sieben Kapiteln.

Die Objekte, der Sound, das Licht und der umgebende Raum interagieren mit dem Besucher und lassen ihn mit den Werken verschmelzen. So erlebt jeder Einzelne die Ausstellung ganz individuell. Der Besucher vergisst für einen Augenblick die Schnelllebigkeit des Alltags und gibt sich ganz der meditativen, hypnotischen Kraft von Licht, Bewegung und Klang hin.

 

Die Ausstellung ist ein lebender Organismus, der sich über die Zeit verändern und wandeln wird. So werden immer wieder neue wechselnde Installationen die Dunkelheit der Ausstellungsräume erhellen. DARK MATTER bleibt flüchtig und immer in Bewegung, eine Vision, die nur für kurze Momente reale Formen annimmt.

LIQUID SKY besteht aus über 800 einzelnen Lichtpunkten, die in ihrer Gesamtheit eine zusammenhängende Oberfläche bilden. Durch die Verspiegelung des Raumes entsteht ein endloser Lichthorizont, der wie ein Himmel aus flüssigem Licht zu funkeln scheint.

INVERSE vereint 169 bewegte schwarze Kugelobjekte zu einer lebendig scheinenden Einheit. Monochromatisch, teilweise bedrohlich in seiner Anmutung, hebt sich das düstere Ensemble dabei scherenschnittartig vom hellen Hintergrund ab.

DARK-MATTER-Installations-1920-02.jpg
DARK-MATTER-Installations-1920-03.jpg

CIRCULAR ist ein hypnotisches Ballett aus drei Lichtringen, die in der Leere der Dunkelheit einen schwerelosen Tanz aufführen. Im Einklang mit der elektronischen Partitur befinden sie sich dabei in einem kontinuierlichen Wechselspiel von Einheit und Individualität.

BONFIRE simuliert mit den Mitteln moderner Technologie eine ganz archaische Institution - Das Freudenfeuer. Die Installation erzeugt mit digitaler Technik die Illusion des wohligen Gefühls, gemeinsam mit Freunden an einem Lagerfeuer unter sternenklarem Himmel zu sitzen.

DARK-MATTER-Installations-1920-05.jpg
DARK-MATTER-Installations-1920-06.jpg

POLYGON PLAYGROUND übersetzt ein im Computer erzeugtes Objekt in den realen Raum. Eine nahtlose 360 Grad Projektion bespielt die Oberfläche wie eine digitale Haut, die über Sensoren auf die Bewegungen der Besucher*innen reagiert.

GRID kombiniert Kinetik, Licht und elektronische Musik zu einer riesigen, audiovisuellen Raumskulptur, die über den Besuchern zu schweben scheint. Die audiovisuelle Installation versinnbildlicht das immer stärkere Verschmelzen des Digitalen mit dem Physischen, ist dabei präsent und flüchtig zugleich.

DARK-MATTER-Installations-1920-07.jpg
DARK-MATTER-Installations-1920-04.jpg

Eine mit Sensoren erweiterte Haushaltsleiter verwandelt sich in ein echtes Musikinstrument. Die gewöhnliche Leiter wird so wörtlich zur Tonleiter. Tritt man auf eine Sprosse oder berührt sie mit der Hand, entsteht ein Klang oder Rhythmus, der von Stufe zu Stufe variiert.

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
© 2020 by DARK MATTER.