Christopher Bauder is light artist, designer and CEO at the same time.

Christopher Bauder (*1973) is the Creative Director of design studio WHITEvoid, which he founded after completing his studies at the Berlin University of the Arts. In addition to his managerial role, he is ever furthering his career and passion as a light and media artist across the world. Bauder is also the founder and Managing Director of the innovative lighting technology manufacturer KINETIC LIGHTS.

Above all else, Bauder is best known for his expansive light art installations. In 2014 along with his brother Marc, he was responsible for the project LICHTGRENZE. The extensive outdoor installation was realized as part of the fall of the Berlin Wall’s 25th anniversary, and stretched over 15 km along the wall’s former route. In total, almost 8,000 balloon steles were specially developed and manufactured for the occasion by Christopher Bauder and his studio WHITEvoid.

  • website
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
Dark-Matter-720x480-Christopher-Bauder-0

Photo: Martin Diephold

Dark-Matter-720x480-WHITEvoid-01.jpg

Christopher Bauder, WHITEvoid, and KINETIC LIGHTS have already exhibited their installations and performances in many places around the world, including at the Centre Pompidou in Paris, MUTEK Festival Montreal, CTM and Transmediale Berlin, Festival of Lights Lyon, National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, and the National Center for the Performing Arts in Beijing. His latest project SKALAR, conceived alongside music producer Kangding Ray, has already received more than 200,000 visitors in Berlin, Zurich, Amsterdam, and Mexico City.

Dark-Matter-1240x635-WHITEvoid-04.jpg
 

The WHITEvoid studio works at the intersection between design and technology.

The creative team consists of specialists in lighting, product, and interior design, as well as electrical engineering, mechatronics, and media. The work is focused on translating the digital into the physical, from bits and bytes into real space. The installation components, along with the sound and light elements, interact with one another and the public, to form the foundation of the studio’s developments.

  • Website
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Vimeo
  • LinkedIn
Dark-Matter-720x480-WHITEvoid-02a.jpg
Dark-Matter-720x480-WHITEvoid-01a.jpg

The expertise and combined collective work of 30 employees create these complex visual worlds. Computer-aided design and algorithms, along with the latest technical innovations, have formed the basis of a completely new media and event technology.

 

Light in its many forms and facets act as the guiding theme in all WHITEvoid's works. Hence, the theme of light becomes the common thread that ties the seven light-installation rooms within the DARK MATTER exhibition.

 

WHITEvoid's installations and products can also be seen in museums, exhibitions, fairs, festivals and concerts around the world, many of which have been awarded national and international prizes.

 
Dark Matter Berlin Ausstellung -Technik

TECHNOLOGY

DARK MATTER redefines the interfaces between technology, creativity and interaction in order to create space for personal sensory experiences.

 

The exhibition introduces new and technical concepts, most of which will be made visible to the public for the very first time.

The employed technologies, such as KINETIC LIGHTS' computer-controlled synchronized winches and light elements, and the completely new HOLOPLOT 3D soundsystem, represent the absolute highest levels of modern technology. The groundbreaking combination makes DARK MATTER a unique high-tech location for audiovisual spatial experiences. DARK MATTER also functions as a research laboratory in which the interactions between these new technologies can be further analyzed and optimized. Each visit is thus a snapshot of what is currently technically possible and at the same time an outlook on the media technologies of the future.

It is only through the cooperation of the companies involved that DARK MATTER can become an experience that reaches the extreme limits of what is technically possible. And in some cases, becoming something that even redefines these possibilities.

1000 sqm

EXHIBITION

7

ROOMS AND LIGHT INSTALLATIONS

25.000

LIGHT SOURCES

2000

SPEAKERS

KINETIC

LIGHTING

INTERACTIVE INSTALLATIONS

PROJECTION MAPPING 

3D SOUND SYSTEMS

 

KINETIC LIGHTS combines state-of-the-art lighting technology with exclusive design.

Most of DARK MATTER’s installations are based on developments by the innovative lighting technology manufacturer KINETIC LIGHTS, which have been either specially adapted or newly developed for the exhibition.

 

KINETIC LIGHTS is the world's leading producer of ‘kinetic lighting’, the specialized suspension of light elements in a wide variety of shapes which are artfully synchronized with the help of computer-controlled motorized winches. Within any particular space, the large-format floating light sculptures are comprised of hundreds, if not thousands of individual units.

  • Website
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Vimeo
1/4

The company has been constructing kinetic lighting systems for international productions for more than ten years. All automation and lighting systems from KINETIC LIGHTS are developed, planned, manufactured and programmed exclusively in Germany. The products are primarily used in architectural installations, music clubs, and at international stage shows.

 

Combining state-of-the-art technology with an artistic approach, KINETIC LIGHTS has developed a completely new lighting aesthetic that is unique to the art, event and entertainment industry worldwide.

Kinetic-Lights_LOGO_White-background
Kinetic-Lights_winches-white-background
 

HOLOPLOT offers unlimited possibilities for incredible sound experiences.

Giving every listener an unparalleled and memorable sound experience – this has been HOLOPLOT’s purpose since day one. Based on the guiding principle “Make every seat the best seat” the technology of the Berlin audio specialist offers outstanding studio sound quality throughout the audience area as well as unrivaled authenticity of the audio content – it thus elevates the definition of “immersive” to a new level.

  • Website
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
1/2

The deep tech company HOLOPLOT has dedicated years of intensive research and development to attain realization of this vision. The result: A radically new, groundbreaking audio system that creates a product category in its own right in order to overcome the limitations of modern professional sound reinforcement systems. A technology that reshapes sound waves and optimizes them such that sound is targeted and projected exclusively to where it is desired – tailored to the individual circumstances and requirements of each installation. A tool that enriches the sound scenery with lifelike, clearly localizable audio objects – in perfect harmony with visual show elements. 

 

HOLOPLOT Audio Systems offer practical performance benefits plus endless creative freedom – thus making a huge difference when transforming the ambitious and visionary DARK MATTER project into a multidimensional experience of light, space, and sound.

DARK MATTER Ausstellung - Berlin -Holoplot Logo black background
Dark Matter Ausstellung - HOLOPLOT spacial sound systems - speakers - back and black background
 

Through the support of our strong partners we can offer our visitors a unique experience at the highest technical standard. As a result, DARK MATTER becomes a memorable audiovisual experience always at the cutting edge of technology.

Thank you very much!

SUPPORTERS

Partners logo - barco- black background
DARK MATTER - Partners - MDG
Dark-Matter - Partner - Lichtblick
Dark Matter Ausstellung Berlin - Touch Designer partner
Dark-Matter- Partners - Robe Logo

Christopher Bauder ist Lichtkünstler, Designer und Geschäftsführer zugleich.

Christopher Bauder (*1973) ist Kreativdirektor des Design Studios WHITEvoid, das er direkt nach seinem Studium an der Universität der Künste in Berlin gründete. Neben seiner leitenden Tätigkeit dort, arbeitet er weltweit als Licht- und Medienkünstler. Darüber hinaus ist er Gründer und Geschäftsführer des innovativen Lichttechnologie-Herstellers KINETIC LIGHTS.

Bauder ist vor allem bekannt für seine raumgreifenden Lichtkunstinstallationen. 2014 entwickelte er in Zusammenarbeit mit seinem Bruder Marc das Projekt LICHTGRENZE. Die Installation aus illuminierten Ballons wurde im Rahmen des 25-jährigen Mauerfall-Jubiläums in Berlin realisiert und erstreckte sich über 15 km entlang des ehemaligen Mauerverlaufs. Die fast 8000 Ballonstelen der LICHTGRENZE wurden von Christopher Bauder und seinem Studio WHITEvoid dafür eigens entwickelt und hergestellt.

  • website
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
Dark-Matter-720x480-Christopher-Bauder-0

Foto: Martin Diephold

Dark-Matter-720x480-WHITEvoid-01.jpg

Christopher Bauder, WHITEvoid und KINETIC LIGHTS haben ihre Installationen und Performances bereits an vielen Orten weltweit gezeigt, unter anderem im Centre Pompidou Paris, MUTEK Festival Montreal, CTM & Transmediale Festival Berlin, Festival of Lights Lyon, National Museum of Fine Arts in Taiwan und dem National Centre for the Performing Arts in Beijing. Das aktuelle Projekt SKALAR, zusammen mit dem Musiker Kangding Ray, wurde in Berlin, Zürich, Amsterdam und Mexico City schon von insgesamt fast 200.000 Menschen besucht.

Dark-Matter-1240x635-WHITEvoid-04.jpg
 

Das Studio WHITEvoid arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von Design, Technologie und Emotion.

Das Team besteht aus Spezialisten für Lichtdesign, Medien- und Produktdesign, sowie Innenarchitektur, Elektrotechnik und Mechatronik. Der Fokus der Arbeiten liegt auf der Übersetzung von Bits und Bytes in den realen Raum. Licht, Objekt, Klang und Interaktion sind die Schlüsselelemente der Entwicklungen.

  • Website
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Vimeo
  • LinkedIn
Dark-Matter-720x480-WHITEvoid-02a.jpg
Dark-Matter-720x480-WHITEvoid-01a.jpg

Über 30 Mitarbeiter erschaffen gemeinsam komplexe visuelle Welten. Rechnergestütztes Design und computergenerierte Algorithmen in Kombination mit den neuesten technischen Möglichkeiten, definieren eine völlig neue Medien- und Eventtechnologie.

 

Licht in seinen vielfältigen Formen und Facetten ist das Leitthema aller Arbeiten von WHITEvoid. So zieht sich das Thema Licht auch wie ein roter Faden durch die sieben Kapitel der DARK MATTER Ausstellung.

 

Die Installationen von WHITEvoid sind außerdem weltweit in Museen, bei Ausstellungen, Messen, Festivals und Konzerten zu sehen. Zahlreiche Entwicklungen wurden bereits mit nationalen und internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

 
Dark Matter Berlin Ausstellung -Technik

TECHNIK

DARK MATTER definiert die Schnittstellen zwischen Technologie, Kreativität und Publikumsinteraktion neu, um Raum für eine persönliche, sinnliche Erfahrungen zu schaffen.

 

Die ausgestellten und teils ungesehenen Technologien von WHITEvoid und seinen Partnern werden hier erstmals der Weltöffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht.

Die verwendeten Technologien wie die computergesteuerten  KINETIC LIGHTS Motorseilwinden und das völlig neuartige  HOLOPLOT 3D-Soundsystem stellen den absoluten Höchststand aktueller Medientechnik dar. Ihre innovative Kombination macht DARK MATTER zum weltweit einzigartigen High-Tech-Standort für audiovisuelle Raumerlebnisse. Zudem ist DARK MATTER auch ein Forschungslabor, in dem die Wechselwirkungen dieser neuartigen Technologien weiter erforscht und optimiert werden. Jeder Besuch ist somit eine Momentaufnahme dessen, was aktuell technisch möglich ist und gleichzeitig ein Ausblick auf die Medientechnologien der Zukunft.

Nur durch die Zusammenarbeit der beteiligten Unternehmen wird DARK MATTER zu einem Erlebnis, das an die äußersten Grenzen des heute technisch Machbaren reicht - und sie teilweise für die Zukunft sogar neu definiert.

1000 qm

AUSSTELLUNGSFLÄCHE

7

RÄUME UND

LICHTINSTALLATIONEN

25.000

LICHTQUELLEN 

2000

LAUTSPRECHER

KINETISCHES LICHT

INTERAKTIVE INSTALLATIONEN

PROJECTION MAPPING 

3D SOUND SYSTEME

 

KINETIC LIGHTS verbindet modernste Lichttechnologie mit exklusivem Design.

Die meisten DARK MATTER Installationen basieren auf Produkten des innovativen Lichttechnologie-Herstellers KINETIC LIGHTS, die speziell für diese Ausstellung angepasst oder sogar neu entwickelt wurden.

 

KINETIC LIGHTS ist der weltweit führende Produzent von "Kinetischer Beleuchtung". Darunter versteht man hängende Leuchtelemente in unterschiedlichsten Formen, die mit Hilfe von computergesteuerten Motorseilwinden kunstvoll synchronisiert in Bewegung versetzt werden. Viele hunderte bis tausende einzelne Einheiten bilden dabei grossformatige schwebende Lichtskulpturen im Raum.

  • Website
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Vimeo
1/4

Seit mehr als zehn Jahren konstruiert das Unternehmen kinetische Beleuchtungsanlagen für internationale Produktionen. Alle Automatisierungs- und Beleuchtungssysteme von KINETIC LIGHTS werden ausschließlich in Deutschland entwickelt, geplant, hergestellt und programmiert. Die Produkte kommen hauptsächlich für Architekturinstallationen, in Musikclubs und bei internationalen Bühnenshows zum Einsatz.

 

In der Kombination von modernster Technik und künstlerischem Anspruch, hat KINETIC LIGHTS eine ganz neue Lichtästhetik entwickelt, die weltweit einzigartig in der Event- und Unterhaltungsindustrie ist.

Kinetic-Lights_LOGO_White-background
Kinetic-Lights_winches-white-background
 

HOLOPLOT bietet grenzenlose Möglichkeiten für unvergleichliche Sound-Erlebnisse.

Jedem einzelnen Zuhörer ein unvergleichliches und unvergessliches Klangerlebnis zu bescheren – das ist seit Tag eins Triebfeder von HOLOPLOT. Gemäß dem Credo “Make every seat the best seat” bietet die Technologie des Berliner Audio-Spezialisten hervorragenden Sound in Studioqualität für den gesamten Zuhörerbereich sowie eine bisher unerreichte Authentizität des Audio-Contents – und hebt damit die Definition von „immersiv“ auf ein neues Level.

  • Website
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
1/2

Der Realisierung dieser Vision hat das Deeptech-Unternehmen HOLOPLOT jahrelange, intensive Forschung und Entwicklung gewidmet. Das Ergebnis: Ein radikal neues, wegweisendes Audiosystem, das seine eigene Produktkategorie schafft, um die Limitierungen moderner professioneller Beschallungsanlagen zu überwinden. Eine Technologie, die Schallwellen neu formt und so optimiert, dass Sound gezielt und ausschließlich dorthin projiziert werden kann, wo er gewünscht ist – maßgeschneidert auf die individuellen Besonderheiten und Bedürfnisse der jeweiligen Installation. Ein Tool, das die Sound-Szenerie um lebensechte, exakt lokalisierbare Klangobjekte bereichert – im perfekten Einklang mit den visuellen Showelementen.

 

HOLOPLOT-Audiosysteme bieten nicht nur ganz praktische Vorteile in punc­to Performance, sondern auch endlose kreative Freiheit – und tragen nicht zuletzt deshalb entscheidend dazu bei, das ambitionierte und visionäre Projekt DARK MATTER in ein multidimensionales Erlebnis aus Licht, Raum und Klang zu verwandeln.

DARK MATTER Ausstellung - Berlin -Holoplot Logo black background
Dark Matter Ausstellung - HOLOPLOT spacial sound systems - speakers - back and black background
 

Durch die Unterstützung unserer starken Partner können wir unseren Besuchern ein einzigartiges Erlebnis auf allerhöchstem technischen Standard bieten. So wird DARK MATTER zu einer unvergesslichen audiovisuellen Erfahrung immer am Puls der Zeit. Vielen Dank! 

UNTERSTÜTZER

Partners logo - barco- black background
DARK MATTER - Partners - MDG
Dark-Matter - Partner - Lichtblick
Dark Matter Ausstellung Berlin - Touch Designer partner
Dark-Matter Ausstellung Berlin partners - Trackingpro logo
Dark Matter Ausstellung Berlin - Lightpower partners logo
Dark-Matter- Partners - Robe Logo