top of page

With his latest art installation FLOW, light artist Christopher Bauder is once again lighting up the Berlin night this summer. Dutch musician Chris Kuijten composed the multi-channel, immersive soundtrack.

The large-format work will be on display at the outdoor area of DARK MATTER from 31 May to 29 September from sunset as part of SOMMERLIGHTS 2024.

FLOW @ SOMMERLIGHTS

31 MAY - 29 SEPTEMBER 2024

FLOW describes the exhilarating feeling of complete immersion and total absorption in a seemingly endless moment. FLOW describes the state of total detachment, a state in which you forget space and time. You are in the moment and completely absorbed in it.


The state of FLOW is as easy and natural as breathing. This vague yet concrete feeling of being in FLOW is what we long for in life. Everything is in perfect balance. We forget time. We lose ourselves. FLOW is a fleeting moment of stillness where everything fits, everything makes sense and the world is simply beautiful. FLOW changes and yet is so light, so deeply rooted in us and as simple as breathing. 


The gigantic light art sculpture is made up of 1,000 partially movable lights with over 30,000 individually controllable light points. The computer-generated, floating sculpture glows in infinite shapes and patterns, as if organically drawn by nature, yet technically perfect. Endless waves breaking on a distant beach, the water moving towards the visitor, then receding, only to approach again with the next wave. A constant up and down, back and forth. Everything is in motion and flux, everything changes, nothing stays the same, and yet in that moment you feel suspended and in FLOW.


The light installation consists of a 45 minute show that repeats throughout the evening after sunset. There are no fixed start times, you can come at any time and stay as long as you like.

Production: WHITEvoid & DARK MATTER Berlin

DARK-MATTER-Sommerlights-24_72dpi_01.jpg

CHRISTOPHER BAUDER

Christopher Bauder is a German artist and designer who creates large scale art installations and performances to explore the effects of light and sound on human perception and emotion. After studying media arts at the Berlin University of the Arts, he founded the interdisciplinary studio WHITEvoid in 2004. There he collaborates with an international team in the fields of architecture, design, software and engineering. Bauder is best known for his citywide light art installation "LICHTGRENZE", which he created with his brother Marc in 2014 to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall.

Portrait_Artist_01_Christopher_Bauder_72dpi.jpg

Photo: Olivier Rimbon Foeller

Portrait_Artist_02_Chris_Kuijten_72dpi.jpg

CHRIS KUIJTEN

Chris Kuijten, a Dutch composer and producer, delves passionately into the realms of contemporary and electronic music. His musical odyssey commenced with a lot of experience on an array of instruments including piano, flute, saxophone, and clarinet, establishing a sturdy foundation for his artistic expedition. Yet, it was his intrigue with electronic equipment that ignited the flames of his creativity and propelled him into a journey of sonic discovery. The boundless potential presented by samplers, computers, and other electronic tools became his canvas, driving him to perpetually explore novel avenues in music composition.

DARK-MATTER-Sommerlights-24_72dpi_02.jpg

ADDRESS

DARK MATTER

Köpenicker Chaussee 46

10317 Berlin - Lichtenberg

OPENING HOURS

Mon-Tue       Closed

Wednesday  20:00 - 23:00

Thursday      20:00 - 23:00

Friday         20:00 - 24:00

Saturday      20:00 - 24:00

Sunday        20:00 - 23:00

Through the support of our strong partners we can offer our visitors a unique experience at the highest technical standard. 

SUPPORTERS

DARK MATTER - Partners - MDG
Dark-Matter-Supporters-400x250-KL.png
Dark-Matter-Supporters-400x250-whhitevoid.png
Dark-Matter- Partners - Robe Logo
Dark-Matter-Supporters-400x250-anolis.png
bottom of page

top of page

Mit seiner neuesten Kunstinstallation FLOW erhellt der Lichtkünstler Christopher Bauder auch in diesem Sommer wieder die Berliner Nacht. Der niederländische Musiker Chris Kuijten komponierte dazu den mehrkanaligen, immersiven Soundtrack.

Die großformatige Arbeit wird im Rahmen von SOMMERLIGHTS 2024 vom 31.05. bis 29.09. jeweils ab Sonnenuntergang auf dem Außengelände von DARK MATTER zu sehen sein.

FLOW @ SOMMERLIGHTS

31. MAI - 29. SEPTEMBER 2024

FLOW bezeichnet das beglückende Gefühl des Zustandes völliger Vertiefung und restlosen Aufgehens in einem endlos erscheinenden Moment. FLOW beschreibt den Zustand vollkommener Gelöstheit, einen Zustand, in dem man Raum und Zeit vergisst. Man ist nur im Augenblick und geht ganz in ihm auf.


Der Zustand von FLOW ist so leicht und natürlich wie das Atmen. Dieses vage und doch konkrete Gefühl, im FLOW zu sein, ist das, wonach wir uns im Leben sehnen. Alles ist in perfekter Balance, im Gleichgewicht. Wir vergessen die Zeit. Wir verlieren uns selbst. FLOW ist ein flüchtiger Moment des Verweilens, in dem alles passt, alles Sinn macht und die Welt einfach schön ist. FLOW verändert und ist doch so leicht, so tief in uns verwurzelt und so einfach wie das Atmen.

 
Die gigantische Lichtkunstskulptur setzt sich aus 1.000 teilweise beweglichen Leuchten mit über 30.000 einzeln ansteuerbaren Lichtpunkten zusammen. Die computergenerierte, schwebende Konstruktion leuchtet in unendlichen Formen und Mustern, wie organisch von der Natur gezeichnet und doch technisch perfekt. Endlose Wellen, die sich an einem fernen Strand brechen, Wasser, das sich auf den Besucher zubewegt, sich dann zurückzieht, um sich mit der nächsten Welle wieder zu nähern. Ein ständiges Auf und Ab, Hin und Her. Alles ist in Bewegung und im Fluss, alles verändert sich, nichts bleibt gleich und doch fühlt man sich in diesem Moment aufgehoben und im FLOW.


Die Lichtinstallation besteht aus einer 45-minütigen Show, die sich den ganzen Abend nach Sonnenuntergang wiederholt. Es gibt keine festen Anfangszeiten, man kann jederzeit kommen und so lange bleiben, wie man möchte.

Produktion: WHITEvoid & DARK MATTER Berlin

DARK-MATTER-Sommerlights-24_72dpi_01.jpg

CHRISTOPHER BAUDER

Christopher Bauder ist ein deutscher Künstler und Designer, der grossformatige Kunstinstallationen und Performances entwirft, die sich mit den Auswirkungen von Licht und Klang auf die menschliche Wahrnehmung und Emotion auseinandersetzen. Nach seinem Studium der Medienkunst an der Universität der Künste Berlin, gründete er 2004 das interdisziplinäre Studio WHITEvoid. Dort arbeitet er mit einem internationalen Team aus den Bereichen Architektur, Design, Software und Technik. Bauders bekanntestes Werk ist die Lichtkunstinstallation "LICHTGRENZE", die er 2014 zusammen mit seinem Bruder Marc anlässlich des 25-jährigen Jubiläums des Berliner Mauerfalls schuf.

Portrait_Artist_01_Christopher_Bauder_72dpi.jpg

Foto: Olivier Rimbon Foeller

Portrait_Artist_02_Chris_Kuijten_72dpi.jpg

CHRIS KUIJTEN

Mit viel Leidenschaft taucht der niederländische Komponist und Produzent Chris Kuijten in die Welt der zeitgenössischen und elektronischen Musik ein. Dabei bilden tiefgehende Erfahrungen mit einer Reihe von klassischen Instrumenten (darunter unter anderem Klavier, Flöte, Saxophon und Klarinette) die solide Grundlage für seine künstlerischen Entdeckungsreisen. Wirklich entfacht wurde die Flamme seiner Kreativität jedoch, als Kuijten begann, auch elektronisches Equipment in seinen künstlerischen Prozess einzubeziehen: Das grenzenlose Potenzial von Samplern, Computern und anderen elektronischen Werkzeugen wurde zu seiner Leinwand und trieb ihn an, immer wieder neue Wege in der Musikkomposition zu gehen.

DARK-MATTER-Sommerlights-24_72dpi_02.jpg

ADRESSE

DARK MATTER

Köpenicker Chaussee 46

10317 Berlin - Lichtenberg

ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN

Mo. - Di.     Geschlossen

Mittwoch     20:00 - 23:00

Donnerstag  20:00 - 23:00

Freitag        20:00 - 24:00

Samstag      20:00 - 24:00

Sonntag      20:00 - 23:00

Durch die Unterstützung unserer starken Partner können wir unseren Besuchern ein einzigartiges Erlebnis auf allerhöchstem technischen Standard bieten.

UNTERSTÜTZER

DARK MATTER - Partners - MDG
Dark-Matter-Supporters-400x250-KL.png
Dark-Matter-Supporters-400x250-whhitevoid.png
Dark-Matter- Partners - Robe Logo
Dark-Matter-Supporters-400x250-anolis.png
bottom of page