SOMMERLIGHTS feels honoured to welcome some serious artists for this Saturday night: Mimi Love, Sven Dohse and Some Chemistry will make for an unforgettable night under STALACTITE and the starry sky. Mimi is known for her tear-inducing sets – her “Love Sound” –, while Sven Dohe is one of the key figures in shaping Berlin's unique sound. Some Chemistry will round off the evening with electropical soytrance from Amsterdam.

MIMI LOVE / SVEN DOHSE / SOME CHEMISTRY

SATURDAY, 25 JUNE 2022

SL-Music_25.06.jpg

MIMI LOVE

She asks her listeners to close their eyes and open their hearts, so they can feel the love – Mimi Love. Her sound is electronically nomadic, influenced by the world and people around her. Whether it's a hypnotic pop sound or a more down-to-earth tempo, her music always arrives with big feelings and sincerity. This is house music for dancers who love to dance, and lovers who love to love.

Mimi Love's career began at the iconic Bar25 in Berlin, where she played dreamy downbeat disco. But soon the bar's "four-on-the-floor" sound seduced her, and with a new romance on her shoulder and a myriad of number one fans urging her on, Mimi Love took off into outer space. Today she travels Europe, America, and The Pacific - despite being firmly planted in ripe Berlin soil.

She is associated with the Bachstelzen Collective and her tear-inducing sets at festivals like Garbicz, she's never far away from playing what has come to be known as her "Love Sound" to crowds of adoring fans. With a taste for exotic fruits and disco dust, Mimi Love is always leaving people wanting more.

 

Mimi Love has always been a rebel, lacing the hedonistic Berlin electronic scene with her stilt walking magic and hands-on carpentry for clubs. Today, she radiates her shiny inner light into music, creating dancers with her touch. Genres are just boxes - Mimi Love plays moods.

SVEN DOHSE

If you talk to anyone who was into Techno in the mid-90s in Hamburg or Northern Germany, they'll tell you rave reviews about this man and his underground clubs, semi-legal festivals, and legendary sets. He was known for playing a perfectly blended mix of 4/4 bass drums that would never end.

If you ask anyone in Berlin about Sven Dohse, they'll tell you he's one of the key figures in shaping the city's unique sound. A passion for music and an ear for what's new has led him to play records at world-famous clubs like Bar 25 and Ritter Butzke, as well as organising successful event series like Bachstelzen and Klangsucht. Though he shies away from media attention, his contribution to Berlin's nightlife is undeniable.

Sven Dohse is not only dedicated to music, but also to politics and charity. He regularly plays at charity events to support various causes, and his involvement with big festivals like Fusion or Nation Of Gondwana helps raise awareness of important issues. In addition, he has international appeal, appearing in places like Stockholm, Zurich and Istanbul.

Starting in the mid-90s, he also began delving into the musical genres of Downtempo / Future Jazz and Freestyle Breakbeats with Malte Möller (a.k.a Waldmeista) under the Conzooma moniker. He later focused on these styles with his solo project Don Shtone, which was introduced to the world in 2000 with the album "Serious Fool Music" on Cylence Records. This was followed by his next album, "Beware Of The Cat", which came out through Off in 2007.

Sven Dohse is a world-renowned DJ and producer who has been wowing audiences for years with his massive sets. He's also the founder of Prestige Weltweit, his own label where he releases music that reflects his personal vision. No matter what genre or style, Sven always puts his overflowing creativity in everything he does.

SOME CHEMISTRY

After conducting an amateur drum ensemble over in Burkina Faso, Some Chemistry became a guitar player in several indie-punk bands throughout The Netherlands and ultimately became infected by the sound of Amsterdam’s underground clubbing scene by the mid 2000’s. He immersed himself into a true ambassador of dance in Amsterdam by the early 2010’s. As a DJ he easily switches between a melodramatic kind of indie house, dreamy balearic grooves, a pinch of disco or ultimately, to simply put it; a mix of italo and techno.

 

To describe the music from Some Chemistry, you can compare it with the experience of eating a mango: Difficult to eat, yet incredibly tasty. That's how electropical soytrance from Amsterdam sounds. Some Chemistry released on Bordello A Parigi, Me Me Me and Wrong Era amongst others.

SOMMERLIGHTS fühlt sich geehrt, diesen Samstag einige besondere Künstler begrüßen zu dürfen: Mimi Love, Sven Dohse und Some Chemistry werden für eine unvergessliche Nacht unter STALACTITE und dem Sternenhimmel sorgen. Mimi ist bekannt für ihre zu Tränen rührenden Sets – ihren "Love Sound" –, während Sven Dohse eine der Schlüsselfiguren ist, die Berlins einzigartigen Sound prägen. Some Chemistry runden den Abend mit elektropischem Soytrance aus Amsterdam ab.

MIMI LOVE / SVEN DOHSE / SOME CHEMISTRY

SAMSTAG, 25. JUNI 2022

SL-Music_25.06.jpg

MIMI LOVE

Sie bittet ihre Zuhörer, die Augen zu schließen und ihr Herz zu öffnen, damit sie die Liebe spüren können – Mimi Love. Ihr Sound ist elektronisch nomadisch, beeinflusst von der Welt und den Menschen um sie herum. Ob mit hypnotischem Popsound oder bodenständigem Tempo, ihre Musik kommt immer mit großen Gefühlen und Aufrichtigkeit dager. Das ist House-Musik für Tänzer, die gerne tanzen, und Liebhaber, die gerne lieben. 

 

Mimi Loves Karriere begann in der kultigen Bar25 in Berlin, wo sie verträumte Downbeat-Disco spielte. Doch schon bald verführte sie der "four-on-the-floor"-Sound der Bar. Und mit einer neuen Romanze auf den Schultern und einer Vielzahl von Nummer-eins-Fans, die sie anfeuerten, hob Mimi Love ins Weltall ab. Heute reist sie durch Europa, Amerika und den Pazifik – obwohl sie fest im reifem Berliner Boden verwurzelt ist. 

 

Sie wird mit dem Bachstelzen-Kollektiv in Verbindung gebracht und ihren zu Tränen rührenden Sets auf Festivals wie Garbicz. Sie ist nie weit davon entfernt, das zu spielen, was als ihr "Love Sound" bekannt geworden ist. Mit ihrer Vorliebe für exotische Früchte und Discostaub macht Mimi Love immer Lust auf mehr.

 

Mimi Love war schon immer eine Rebellin, die die hedonistische Berliner Elektronikszene mit ihrer Stelzenlauf-Magie und ihrer Hands-On-Tischlerei für Clubs bereichert hat. Heute strahlt sie ihr leuchtendes inneres Licht in die Musik. Genres sind nur Kisten – Mimi Love spielt Stimmungen.

SVEN DOHSE

Wenn man mit jemandem sprichst, der Mitte der 90er Jahre in Hamburg oder Norddeutschland auf Techno stand, werden wird sie oder er von diesem Mann und seinen Underground-Clubs, halblegalen Festivals und legendären Sets schwärmen. Er war bekannt dafür, einen perfekt abgemischten Mix aus 4/4-Bass-Drums zu spielen, der niemals enden wollte.

 

Wenn man in Berlin jemanden nach Sven Dohse fragt, wird man sagen, dass er eine der Schlüsselfiguren ist, die den einzigartigen Sound der Stadt geprägt haben. Seine Leidenschaft für Musik und sein Gespür für Neues haben dazu geführt, dass er in weltberühmten Clubs wie der Bar 25 und Ritter Butzke Platten auflegt und erfolgreiche Veranstaltungsreihen wie die Bachstelzen und Klangsucht organisiert. Auch wenn er die Aufmerksamkeit der Medien scheut, ist sein Beitrag zum Berliner Nachtleben unbestreitbar.

 

Sven Dohse engagiert sich nicht nur für die Musik, sondern auch für Politik und Wohltätigkeit. Er spielt regelmäßig auf Wohltätigkeitsveranstaltungen, um verschiedene Zwecke zu unterstützen, und sein Engagement bei großen Festivals wie Fusion oder Nation Of Gondwana hilft, das Bewusstsein für wichtige Themen zu schärfen. Darüber hinaus ist er international gefragt und tritt in Städten wie Stockholm, Zürich und Istanbul auf.

 

Ab Mitte der 90er Jahre beschäftigte er sich zusammen mit Malte Möller (alias Waldmeista) unter dem Namen Conzooma auch mit den Musikrichtungen Downtempo / Future Jazz und Freestyle Breakbeats. Später konzentrierte er sich auf diese Stile mit seinem Soloprojekt Don Shtone, das im Jahr 2000 mit dem Album "Serious Fool Music" auf Cylence Records der Weltöffentlichkeit vorgestellt wurde. Darauf folgte sein nächstes Album "Beware Of The Cat", das 2007 über Off erschien. 

 

Sven Dohse ist ein weltbekannter DJ und Produzent, der das Publikum seit Jahren mit seinen massiven Sets beeindruckt. Er ist auch der Gründer von Prestige Weltweit, seinem eigenen Label, auf dem er Musik veröffentlicht, die seine persönliche Vision widerspiegelt. Egal welches Genre oder welcher Stil, Sven lässt seine überbordende Kreativität in alles einfließen, was er tut.

SOME CHEMISTRY

Nachdem er in Burkina Faso ein Amateur-Schlagzeug-Ensemble geleitet hatte, wurde Some Chemistry Gitarrist in mehreren Indie-Punk-Bands in den Niederlanden und schließlich Mitte der 2000er Jahre vom Sound der Amsterdamer Underground-Clubbing-Szene infiziert. Anfang 2010 entwickelte er sich zu einem wahren Botschafter des Dance in Amsterdam. Als DJ wechselt er mühelos zwischen melodramatischem Indie-House, verträumten Balearen-Grooves, einer Prise Disco und einer Mischung aus Italo und Techno.

 

Die Musik von Some Chemistry ähnelt ein wenig einer Mango: Schwierig zu essen, aber unglaublich lecker. So klingt der elektropische Soytrance aus Amsterdam. Some Chemistry hat unter anderem auf Bordello A Parigi, Me Me Me und Wrong Era veröffentlicht.