Unpolished with their fat acid basslines and Frag Maddin with his weakness for drum machines: musicians well worth listening to accompany the 16-metre-high light installation STALACTITE this Thursday evening at SOMMERLIGHTS. A very special experience of light and music.

UNPOLISHED / FRAG MADDIN

THURSDAY, 23 JUNE 2022

SL-Music_23-06.jpg

UNPOLISHED

Marcel and Linus, the guys behind Unpolished, quickly found an inner connection during their first spontaneous b2b sessions in 2018. They developed a distinctive flow with which they captured the hearts of the audience.

 

2021 have created their very own sound in the studio: raw, fast and unpolished, but always built on a solid foundation of house music. They effortlessly mix fat acid basslines with disco-heavy 130 BPM bangers or – if the mood allows it – sweet and dreamy pads.

FRAG MADDIN

True art is not only the product in itself, but also the ephemeral moment when the artist is possessed by a creative impulse. Ideas flow freely and merge creativity and emotion without the artist having to think too much. When the artist manages to retain that "Nullpunkt" or frame of reference in their artwork, it becomes a hommage to that original moment. That is what Frag Maddin understands as true art. The product becomes a homage to that moment.

 

In an interview for “Fresh” Frag Maddin once said about himself: “As a drummer, I have a great affinity for rhythm, that is, in an electronic context, a weakness for drum machines. When they are used innovatively, I can get pee-pee in my eyes. If the musical background is also right, trippy if you like, then I am blown away.

Unpolished mit ihren fetten Acid-Basslines und Frag Maddin mit seiner Schwäche für Drummachines: Sehr hörenswerte Musiker begleiten diesen Donnerstagabend bei SOMMERLIGHTS die 16 Meter hohen Lichtinstallation STALACTITE. Ein Erlebnis aus Licht und Musik der besonderen Art.

UNPOLISHED / FRAG MADDIN

DONNERSTAG, 23. JUNI 2022

SL-Music_23-06.jpg

UNPOLISHED

Marcel und Linus, die Jungs hinter Unpolished, haben bei ihren ersten spontanen b2b-Sessions im Jahr 2018 schnell eine innere Verbindung gefunden. Sie entwickelten einen unverwechselbaren Flow, mit dem sie die Herzen des Publikums eroberten.

 

2021 haben im Studio ihren ganz eigenen Sound kreiert: roh, schnell und ungeschliffen, aber immer auf einem soliden Fundament aus House-Musik gebaut. Sie mischen mühelos fette Acid-Basslines mit Disco-lastigen 130 BPM-Krachern oder – wenn es die Stimmung zulässt – mit süßen und verträumten Pads.

FRAG MADDIN

Wahre Kunst ist nicht nur das Produkt an sich, sondern auch der flüchtige Moment, in dem der Künstler von einem kreativen Impuls besessen ist. Die Ideen fließen frei und vereinen Kreativität und Emotion, ohne dass der Künstler zu viel nachdenken muss. Wenn es dem Künstler gelingt, diesen "Nullpunkt" oder Bezugsrahmen in seinem Kunstwerk beizubehalten, wird es zu einer Hommage an diesen ursprünglichen Moment. Das ist es, was Frag Maddin als wahre Kunst versteht. Das Produkt wird zu einer Hommage an diesen Moment.

 

In einem Interview für “Fresh” sagte Frag Maddin über sich: “Als Schlagzeuger habe ich eine große Affinität für Rhythmus, das heißt im elektronischen Kontext, eine Schwäche für Drummachines. Wenn diese innovativ eingesetzt werden, kann ich schon Pipi in den Augen bekommen. Wenn das musikalische Drumherum auch noch stimmt, gerne trippy, dann geht bei mir gar nichts mehr.”